Foundation Stage

In the Foundation Stage at Mulgrave School we aim to provide our children with the best start in life. Working alongside other agencies, we support children by engaging with their parents, carers, extended family and the wider community. Through play, in a safe, caring environment, all our children are encouraged to become creative, confident, independent, lifelong learners.

In the Nursery and Reception classes we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum (EYFS), which is especially suited to the needs of young children. There are seven areas of learning and development, which are all inter-connected.  The following three prime areas are particularly important for children’s capacity to learn and helping them build good relationships with others.


Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Laguage


Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design


SpringTerm 2


We will continue our topic Once Upon a time focusing on two more book.  Jack and the beanstalk and the Ugly duckling. We will be covering the 7 areas of the curriculum through

the topic.

EY Topic



Please read these stories to your child at home either in English or in your first language.

EY Ugly                  EY Jack

Home Learning Focus

Literacy; Please encourage your child to learn how to write their name.

Maths: Counting and number recognistion from 1-10

Reading at home

We encourage you to read to your child daily. You can borrow a book from our nursery lending library in class or from the local library.

Please see a member of staff for more information.

Please click here to view our Spring 2 Newsletter